Rebecca Romijn as Alexis Meade on Ugly Betty

I’m catching up on Ugly Betty on DVD and love the Alexis Meade story line (Rebecca Romijn plays a MTF):

Here’s an interview with her about her role on the show at Gaywired (via Femulate)

“I happen to have several friends who are transgender so it’s something that is a very sensitive subject and it’s very close to my heart,” said Romijn, who plays Alexis on the show. “It’s something that I would never want to make any choices that would insult my friends. I also feel like I’m part of a movement of people that are sort of making it into mainstream society and don’t really have a voice yet or are still finding their voice. It’s kind of an honor. At first it just sounded like a really fun character to play. Now it feels a little bit more important.”

Those friends of hers in the community approve. “[They have been] super positive,” she says. “I’ve met a lot of transgender (people), which has been really interesting. They love it. Everything that I pick up for the character, I pick up for them. It can be a sensitive subject. To make that decision to change your gender is a huge decision so of course I would never want to offend my friends. Hopefully I have not and the writers are all very knowledgeable and supportive and sympathetic with the character.”

Here’s a YouTube montage:

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

